ISME Facebook
ISME Twitter
ISME Instagram
ISME YouTube
Home / Our Work / Committees / Membership Standing Committee
Membership Standing Committee


The Membership Committee has been convened as part of the 6-year strategic plan and its mission is to further develop the value and breadth of membership.

Terms of reference

The terms of reference for this committee are:

  1. Initiate the allyship programme (mentorships)
  2. Develop the platform and programmes for an ISME Student Chapter
  3. Enhanced recruitment and retention of members towards an expanded representation of geographic regions and communities of music educators
  4. Recommend activities for member engagement and professional development, with emphasis on early career members

This connects to three points in the strategic and work plans:

  1. Membership experience
  2.  Professional development (allyship programme, leadership in music education PD)
  3. Innovative initiatives (connecting members online, increasing networking opportunities)

Committee members

Under the leadership of Board member Jody Kerchner, the members are shown below.









Related people
United States, United States
Dr. Jody Kerchner
Dr.Kerchner is the secondary-school music and choral music education specialist at the Oberlin Conservatory of Music. She is also founder and conductor of the Oberlin...
Go to profile
Prof. Danhong Yu
Go to profile
Dr. Flavia-Maria Cruvinel
Associate Professor of Music Education at the School of Music and Performing Arts and Assistant Dean of Extension and Culture of the Federal University of...
Go to profile
Dr. Donna Weston
Convenor of the Popular Music Education SIG
Go to profile
Egypt, Egypt
Dr. Sonia Emil
Go to profile
South Africa, South Africa
Prof. Alethea De Villiers
Commission on Policy: Culture, Education and Media
Go to profile
Prof. Dr. Gabriele Schellberg
Go to profile


Tourism Queensland