ISME Facebook
ISME Twitter
ISME Instagram
ISME YouTube
Home / Our Work / Sponsored Delegate Awards
Sponsored Delegate Awards

Purpose of the Award

The ISME Sponsored Delegate Awards are intended to enable music educators who have made significant contributions to their local community to attend an ISME biennial World Conference for the first time. Awarded to applicants who demonstrate a need for financial assistance, the award meets the conference registration costs and contributes towards the costs of travel, accommodation and subsistence.


The ISME Sponsored Delegate Awards are open to ISME members who have not previously attended an ISME World Conference and meet the criteria outlined below.


When applying for a sponsored delegate award the applicant will need to provide:

  • A statement on the ways in which the individual has contributed to the musical life and learning of their community;
  • A statement outlining the ways in which attending an ISME conference will contribute to the individual's further work in music education; and
  • Evidence of the applicant's need - the status of the applicant (as full-time/part-time/unwaged) as well as the PPP rating of the applicant's country of residence will be taken into account by the ISME Awards Panel.


Applications open in the early months of the conference year.

The decision-making process

The awards are for first time conference attendees so previous award recipients may not apply again.

All applications are considered by the ISME Awards Panel chaired by the President or nominee. Applicants are informed normally within four weeks of the closing date of the outcome and must advise the panel in writing of their acceptance of an offer of award within seven days of the receipt of the letter of award. The decision of the panel is final, and the Society regrets that it is unable to enter into any correspondence regarding its decision. Each application is treated individually on its merits; hence previous applicants may apply again as long as they have not already attended a world conference since.

Further information

For further information, please contact the CEO

Awards for the 2022 conference

As the 2022 world conference was online only, travel and accommodation expenses support was not relevant, so a different awards program was offered.

Awards for the 2020 conference

No conference was held in 2020 so no awards were made.

Awards for the 2018 conference

The 2018 Award was given to:

Shahriyar Jamshidi (Canada)

Awards for the 2016 conference

The 2016 Awards were given to:

Alma Rosa Gonzalez (Mexico)
Ashley Marie Wright (Marshall Islands)
Meagan Pearse (Australia)
Ryan Cunneyworth (Canada)