Log in or Join us
Visit 2019 World Conference

Purpose of the Award

The ISME World Conference Awards are intended to enable music educators with demonstrated financial need to attend the ISME biennial World Conference through meeting the registration costs and contributing towards the costs of travel, accommodation and subsistence.


The ISME World Conference Awards are open to ISME members who have been accepted to give a spoken or poster presentation for the first time at the Society's biennial world conference. The awards are given to an individual once only.


In general the criteria by which applications will be judged include:

1. The quality, originality and significance of the proposed research;

2. The applicant's financial need - the status of the applicant (as full-time/part-time/unwaged) as well as the HDI rating of the applicant's country of residence.

3. The importance of attendance at the conference for furthering the music education contributions of the delegate concerned, and the likelihood of the applicant being unable to obtain funding from other sources.


Applications for the 2018 World Conference Awards are now open - although applications should not be made until submission notifications are received.

Download the application form from this page and submit it once you have received your presentation acceptance letter - and before 1 March 2018.

Also download the referee report form and ask your referee to submit their supporting statement before 1 March 2018. 

The decision-making process

The Awards are first-time presenters only, so previous award recipients and previous presenters at ISME World Conference should not apply.

All applications will be considered by the ISME Awards Panel chaired by the President or nominee (for 2018 this is former ISME President Margaret Barrett). Applicants will be informed normally within four weeks of the closing date of the outcome and must advise the panel in writing of their acceptance of an offer of award within 7 days of the receipt of the letter of award. The decision of the panel is final, and the Society regrets that it is unable to enter into any correspondence regarding its decision. Each application is treated individually on its merits; hence previous applicants are not precluded from applying (although previous recipients of awards are).


Award recipients at World Conference 2018

The following were the World Conference Award recipients in 2018:

Gillian Howell (Australia)
Iman Shah (Nepal)
Riju Tuladhar (Nepal)
Kushal Karki (Nepal)
John Shrestha (Nepal)
Kyna Elliott (USA)
László Stachó (Hungary)
Avril McLoughlin (Ireland)
Angie Mullins (South Africa)
Celeste M. Romulo (Philippines)
Katharina Loibner (Austria)
Lisa Burrell (USA))

Award recipients at World Conference 2016

The following were the World Conference Award recipients in 2016:

Alla Toropova (Russia)
Anibal Martel Andrade (Peru)
Arthur Gill (Pakistan)
Erkan Sulun (Turkey)
Gertrude Bien Aime (Haiti)
Milca Maria Cavalanti de Paula (Brazil)
Nicole Canham (Australia)
Yen-Ting Wu (UK)

Further information

For further information, please contact the Secretary General at isme@isme.org

Application form for World Conference Award Download
Referee report for World Conference Award Download